How many lions are there in Indian national emblem?

Lions in Indian national emblem

The Indian National Emblem has been adopted from the Lion Capital of Ashoka at Sarnath. It includes four lions, standing back to back, mounted on an abacus with a frieze carrying sculptures in high relief of an elephant, a galloping horse, a bull and a lion separated by intervening wheels over a bell-shaped lotus.

There are 4 lions in indian national emblem

Indian Emblem

Carved out of a single block of polished sandstone, the capital is crowned by the Wheel of the Law (Dharma Chakra). This same Chakra can be found on the Indian National Flag.

The Government of lndia adopted the Lion Capital as the National Emblem on 26 January 1950. Only 3 lions are visible, the fourth being hidden from view being behind the lion which faces the viewer.

The wheel appears in relief in the centre of the abacus with a bull on right and a horse on left and the outlines of other wheels on extreme right and left. The bell-shaped lotus has heen omitted.

The words ‘Satyameva Jayate’ from Mundaka Upanishad, meaning ‘Truth Alone Triumphs’, are inscribed below the abacus in the Devanagari script.

National Emblem of India is a representative seal of the Republic of India that is adapted from the Lion Capital of Ashoka Pillar (based in Sarnath, Uttar Pradesh.) India adopted it as the State Emblem on 26th January 1950. The motto of the Indian National Emblem is ‘Satyamev Jayate’ or ‘Truth Alone Triumphs.’

National Emblem is the symbol of authority and is present in all the official communications of the government

Facts about National Emblem of India for UPSC

What is an Emblem?

An emblem by description is “a heraldic instrument or symbolic object as a unique insignia of a nation, organization, or family”. The National Emblem of a nation is a seal that is earmarked for official purposes and orders the highest admiration and loyalty. For a nation, it is a symbol of power and signifies the foundation of its constitutional values. The Indian National Emblem was accepted on 26 January 1950 by Madhav Sawhney.

According to rules, the National Emblem of India can only be used as per provisions of the State Emblem of India (Prohibition of Improper Use) Act-2005 and any unauthorized use is punishable under law.

  1. The Ashoka pillar, erected by Emperor Ashoka, has four lions seated back to back which imply power, courage, confidence and pride.
  2. Other animals demonstrated on the pillar are horse, bull, elephant, and lion.
  3. The elephant denotes Buddha’s outset (the dream of a white elephant entering her womb dreamt by Buddha’s mother at the time of Buddha’s conception).
  4. The bull symbolizes Zodiac sign of Buddha- Taurus.
  5. The horse signifies Buddha’s horse, which he rode at the time of departing from the citadel.
  6. The lion indicates enlightenment.
  7. All the Ashoka Pillars were carved by craftsmen from the same area using stone from Chunar and Mathura.
  8. Each pillar is around 40 to 50 feet in height, and weighing up to 50 tons each, were pulled to where they were raised.
  9. Only six pillars with animal capitals and nineteen pillars persist with inscriptions.
  10. The engravings on the pillars described proclamations about morality grounded on Buddhist doctrines.
  11. The slogan ‘Satyameva Jayate’- “The Truth Alone Triumphs” is engraved below the National Emblem.
  12. Slogan ‘Satyameva Jayate’ is a quote from the Mundaka Upanishad, the closing part of the holy Hindu Vedas

10 lines on national emblem of India

National Emblem is the official seal of the President of India and Central and State Governments and an inevitable part of the official letterhead of the Government of India.

National Emblem is a part of all Indian currency and the National Passport of the Republic of India.

In the two-dimensional representation of the emblem on the original copy of Indian Constitution, the fourth lion was left out.

Indian Police Service Officers (IPS) wear the state emblem on their caps.

Members of Parliament (MPs) can also use the state emblem on their letterheads and visiting cards.

There is a punishment of imprisonment of up to two years or a fine of up to INR 2000 if someone violates the law concerning the usage of the National Emblem.

Dinanath Bhargava is believed to visit Alipore Zoo in Kolkata to see a lion before he depicts the same on paper.

The National Emblem can be displayed in the following public buildings:

Rashtrapati Bhawan

Parliament House

Supreme Court

Central Secretariat buildings

Raj Bhawan or Raj Niwas

State Legislature

High Courts

Secretariat buildings of the States or the Union territories

Premises of India’s Diplomatic Mission abroad

Residences of Heads of Missions in the countries of their accreditation

At the entrance doors of buildings occupied by India’s Consulates abroad